How do I exclude a folder.

Discuss RoboTask here
Post Reply
BrianSmith
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 7:50 pm

How do I exclude a folder.

Post by BrianSmith »

How do I exclude a sub folder and all files within this folder when using the Pack Files task.

In the exclude mask field I tried entering the full path to a sub folder under the folder I was packing but it still packed files in that folder.

Example:

Files to Zip: c:\temp\*.*
Exclude Mask: c:\temp\folder1\*.*

c:\temp\folder1 contains more sub folders and files but the task seems to get all of these folders and files and zip them as well.

How do I prevent any file or folder in c:\temp\folder1 from being zipped?

What is the exclude mask?
AlexeySurkis
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:55 pm
Contact:

How do I exclude a folder.

Post by AlexeySurkis »

By using the "exclude mask" option, you can tell the action what files you don't want to pack.

Example:
*.bak
*.txt, test??.*

Regarding how to exclude entire subfolders - we've put this idea to our TO-DO list.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3000
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

How do I exclude a folder.

Post by Oleg »

You may specify in "Exclude masks" masks with folders separated by commas. Like this:
"c:\temp\folder1\*.*","c:\temp\folder2\*.*"

For example see the Task below:

Code: Select all

;********************
; RoboTask Task file
; Do not edit!
;********************
 
[Root]
ActionAfterRun=INTEGER|0
Actions=FOLDER
Automat=INTEGER|-1
CatID=INTEGER|1807969784
ExternalName=STRING|"Task86"
Hide=INTEGER|0
ID=INTEGER|390957533
Name=STRING|"Pack Files except some folders"
Priority=INTEGER|3
RunOnClose=INTEGER|0
RunOnStartup=INTEGER|0
ToLog=INTEGER|3

[Actions]
Action1=FOLDER
Action2=FOLDER
Action3=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1]
ActionID=STRING|"A_DIALOG_MESSAGE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Show ""This task backup ""C:\Temp"" folder with subfolders"""
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1\Params]
icon=STRING|"1"
msg0=STRING|"This task backup ""C:\Temp"" folder with subfolders"
msg1=STRING|"(except forlders  ""C:\Temp\dst"" and ""C:\Temp\src"")"
msg2=STRING|"and save into ""C:\MyBackup.zip"""
msgcount=STRING|"3"
playsound=STRING|"0"
showmessage=STRING|"1"

[Actions\Action2]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FOLDER_CHANGE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Change Folder (C:\temp)"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action2\Params]
folder=STRING|"C:\temp"

[Actions\Action3]
ActionID=STRING|"A_ZIP_PACK"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Pack Files"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action3\Params]
action=STRING|"0"
coment0=STRING|"{DateTime}, {DayOfWeek}"
coment1=STRING|"This zip-archive created by RoboTask (C) 2003-2004 Neowise"
comentcount=STRING|"2"
compreslevel=STRING|"1"
destfile=STRING|"C:\MyBackup.zip"
dosformat=STRING|"0"
exclude=STRING|"dst\*.*,src\*.*"
file0=STRING|"*.*"
filecount=STRING|"1"
includesubfolders=STRING|"1"
incsysandhidden=STRING|"0"
junkdirnames=STRING|"0"
password=STRING|"2591325706251962622642913"

Last edited by Oleg on Tue May 11, 2004 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
BrianSmith
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 7:50 pm

How do I exclude a folder.

Post by BrianSmith »

Thanks for the feedback.

I have gone with using a custom built RoboTask that uses the WinRAR command line application to compress files.

I have posted this RoboTask earlier on the forum.
Post Reply