Field data

Discuss RoboTask here
Post Reply
David W.
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:02 am

Field data

Post by David W. »

Hi again,
 
I am doing a Dataset Loop and outputting the data values out to a file.  It appears to not have ALL the data in the line but has the last half of the line of data.
 
It appears to have something to do with the double-quotes around the string values returned from the column values.. No?
 
David
 
Last edited by David W. on Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3014
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Field data

Post by Oleg »

Dataset loop save retrieved row to user variable as comma-separated text. To access to any field you should use variable as array.
For example:
You use dataset loop and assign current row to variable named RowVar
{RowVar(0)} contains a value of first field
{RowVar(1)} - second field
{RowVar(2)} - third field
etc.
It appears to not have ALL the data in the line but has the last half of the line of data.
I'm afraid I haven't understood what do you mean.
Last edited by Oleg on Sat Feb 25, 2006 3:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
David W.
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:02 am

Field data

Post by David W. »

Well I was happy with the comma-delimited string and just want to output that entire string to the file and not have to output each individual field using the {RowVar(0)} syntax.
 
Can I do that?
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3014
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Field data

Post by Oleg »

Yes of course. You can write comma-separated string into file via Write Text File with Append parameter within Dataset Loop.

For example:

Delete file CommaData.txt
Dataset Loop
   //append current line into end of file
   Write Text File CommaData.txt with append
end loop

As result, you will get a comma-separated text which containes the data from dataset.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3014
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Field data

Post by Oleg »

See example below:

;**********************
;* RoboTask Task file *
;* Do not edit!       *
;**********************

[Root]
ActionAfterRun=INTEGER|0
Actions=FOLDER
Automat=INTEGER|-1
CatID=INTEGER|1272562679
ContinueOnError=INTEGER|0
ExternalName=STRING|"Task134"
Hide=INTEGER|0
ID=INTEGER|1152923633
Name=STRING|"Dataset Loop (export)"
Priority=INTEGER|3
RunOnClose=INTEGER|0
RunOnStartup=INTEGER|0
ToLog=INTEGER|3

[Actions]
Action1=FOLDER
Action2=FOLDER
Action3=FOLDER
Action4=FOLDER
Action5=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FILE_DELETE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Delete File"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1\Params]
Count=STRING|"1"
deletedirs=STRING|"0"
file0=STRING|"c:\data\export.txt"
subdir=STRING|"0"
ToRecycleBin=STRING|"0"

[Actions\Action2]
ActionID=STRING|"A_LOOP_DATASET"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Dataset Loop"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action2\Params]
commatext=STRING|"0"
connectionstring=STRING|"Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Da ta Source=C:\data\notice.mdb;Persist Security Info=False"
override=STRING|"0"
password=STRING|"1980019594193411933931376"
sql=STRING|"""select * from proposals"""
var2=STRING|"ROW"
withmemo=STRING|"0"

[Actions\Action3]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FILE_TEXTWRITE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Create text file c:\data\export.txt"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action3\Params]
fileexists=STRING|"1"
filname=STRING|"c:\data\export.txt"
line0=STRING|"{row}"
linecount=STRING|"1"

[Actions\Action4]
ActionID=STRING|"A_LOOP_END"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"End Loop"

[Actions\Action5]
ActionID=STRING|"A_VARIABLES_REMOVE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Remove variable ""ROW"""
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action5\Params]
varname=STRING|"ROW"
David W.
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:02 am

Field data

Post by David W. »

 
That is exactly what I am doing...
 
Ah, nevermind.  Sorry.  The data was bogus which made it look like it was incorrect, but in fact is correct.  Thanks.
 
DW
Last edited by David W. on Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply