Program Specific Hot Keys

Discuss RoboTask here
Post Reply
Active
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:32 am

Program Specific Hot Keys

Post by Active »

Hello. I am quite new to robotask and I find it very
accurate.


In order to save me same time can you please advise how a
single key can send different keystrokes according to active window/program.




 For example I want the ` key to send keystrokes ^({F4}) (CTRL+F4)
when the active window is Mozilla Firefox and the same ` key to send keystrokes
%({F4}) (ALt+F4) when the active window is Internet Explorer.


Last edited by Active on Sat Oct 29, 2005 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3014
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Program Specific Hot Keys

Post by Oleg »

See task below. Don't forget to enable the task after importing.
By the way: what do Ctrl-F4 key in Mozilla? I think that you want to close window of browser. Therefore Alt-F4 is valid for Mozilla too.

;**********************
;* RoboTask Task file *
;* Do not edit!       *
;**********************

[Root]
ActionAfterRun=INTEGER|0
Actions=FOLDER
Automat=INTEGER|-1
CatID=INTEGER|2013454187
ContinueOnError=INTEGER|0
Events=FOLDER
ExternalName=STRING|"Task172"
Hide=INTEGER|0
ID=INTEGER|1396778969
Name=STRING|"IE or Mozilla"
Priority=INTEGER|3
RunOnClose=INTEGER|0
RunOnStartup=INTEGER|0
ToLog=INTEGER|3

[Actions]
Action1=FOLDER
Action2=FOLDER
Action3=FOLDER
Action4=FOLDER
Action5=FOLDER
Action6=FOLDER
Action7=FOLDER
Action8=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1]
ActionID=STRING|"A_WINDOW_CHECK"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Check for Window"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1\Params]
abortif=STRING|"0"
action=STRING|"1"
checkfor=STRING|"1"
exact=STRING|"0"
variable=STRING|"IE_ACTIVE"
wincaption=STRING|"- Microsoft Internet Explorer"

[Actions\Action2]
ActionID=STRING|"A_WINDOW_CHECK"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Check for Window"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action2\Params]
abortif=STRING|"0"
action=STRING|"1"
checkfor=STRING|"1"
exact=STRING|"0"
variable=STRING|"mozilla_ACTIVE"
wincaption=STRING|"- Mozilla Firefox"

[Actions\Action3]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FLOW_IF"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"If Then"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action3\Params]
case=STRING|"0"
operator=STRING|"0"
type=STRING|"3"
value1=STRING|"{ie_active}"

[Actions\Action4]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_SENDKEYS"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Send keys to active window"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action4\Params]
currentwindow=STRING|"1"
fixedwindow=STRING|"1"
keylayout=STRING|"0"
keys=STRING|"%({F4})"
sendkind=STRING|"0"
wincaption=STRING|"Notepad"

[Actions\Action5]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FLOW_ENDIF"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"End If"

[Actions\Action6]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FLOW_IF"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"If Then"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action6\Params]
case=STRING|"0"
operator=STRING|"0"
type=STRING|"3"
value1=STRING|"{mozilla_active}"

[Actions\Action7]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_SENDKEYS"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Send keys to active window"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action7\Params]
currentwindow=STRING|"1"
fixedwindow=STRING|"1"
keylayout=STRING|"0"
keys=STRING|"^({F4})"
sendkind=STRING|"0"
wincaption=STRING|"Notepad"

[Actions\Action8]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FLOW_ENDIF"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"End If"

[Events]
Event1=FOLDER

[Events\Event1]
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
EventID=STRING|"E_GENERAL_HOTKEY"
Params=FOLDER

[Events\Event1\Params]
hotkey=STRING|"192"
Active
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:32 am

Program Specific Hot Keys

Post by Active »

Oleg wrote:By the way: what do Ctrl-F4 key in Mozilla? I think
that you want to close window of browser. Therefore Alt-F4 is valid for
Mozilla too.


Thanks a lot for your reply.




The CTRL+F4 is closing the present tab in Firefox and I just
want to assign different uses of the certain key.



The script you appended is working as wished.




Is there a form to work on it if I want to repeat this
process with other programs/hotkeys?






I mean, for example, use F2 to send keystrokes with my name when
MS Word is active, but when my antivirus is active I want to use F2 to update
it. 


Can I use a form, in order same hotkeys have different
actions depending of the active window?




Thanks


 


 
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3014
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Program Specific Hot Keys

Post by Oleg »

You can write another task like this example, and use hot key F2 in triggering event. But remember that RoboTask intercept a hot key, and application don't receive this key combination. I think that better to do so:

if MsWord is active then
   send My Name
else
   if Antivirus is active then
      send Key combination to update
   else
      send F2 // sending Hot Key if another application
   end if
end if
Post Reply