Clear Log action

Post comments and suggestions for RoboTask here
Post Reply
adhunkins
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:16 pm

Clear Log action

Post by adhunkins »

I suggest an action to clear the log for a task (default to current task). It could be a new action in the "RoboTask Commands" section. Or it could be in the Settings tab of the task.
Lana_K
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 7:43 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Clear Log action

Post by Lana_K »

Sorry, I am just curious, why right-clicking on the log panel and selecting 'Clear Log' is not enough?
adhunkins
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:16 pm

Re: Clear Log action

Post by adhunkins »

An example might be a trigger that records the size of a new window into the log. The log would get very long very quickly. Or, as you say, you'd need to open RoboTask all the time, find the task, and right-click to clear the log so that only the most recent window info shows in the log. If there was the ability to clear the log programmatically, you could just clear the log as a task step just before outputting the info to the log. (That's actually my use case for the feature request.)
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3032
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Clear Log action

Post by Oleg »

Log size has limit. Look at menu Options->Settings
Oleg Yershov
adhunkins
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:16 pm

Re: Clear Log action

Post by adhunkins »

True. But that setting applies to all tasks. And there's no way to know how many characters your task will dump to the log.

It would be nice if the log contained ONLY the log output from the last triggered event. IMHO.

As always, Oleg, thank you for your consideration.
Post Reply