RoboTask has stopped printing

Discuss RoboTask here

RoboTask has stopped printing

Postby mploug » Sat Aug 21, 2021 9:54 am

Hi,

We have RoboTask 6.7.2.911 running on a Windows server. Suddenly RoboTask has stopped printing the PDF files
from the current folder. RoboTask says that the files are being printed but they don't get send to the printer.
We Use Sumatra PDF for RoboTask.
We have send a Windows test print to the currrent printer and it works fine.

We have rebooted the server and checked that the services and tasks are running.
Can there be some kind of problem with the server? Maybe an update on the server has added some restrictions?
I can see that the latest version of RoboTask is 8.4. Would it help to install and use this version instead?
Do you have other suggestions?

Thank you in advance.

Kind regards,
Martin
mploug
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: RoboTask has stopped printing

Postby Oleg » Sat Aug 21, 2021 2:53 pm

RoboTask does not print documents directly.
It uses shell command "print" to do this. System shell launches the associated application and it prints the document

Probably associated application for PDF files installed incorrectly or have some other problems.
Associated for PDF are Acrobat reader, Fixit Reader or some other PDF viewer. Try to reinstall it.

System can break some settings when it install system updates.
Oleg Yershov
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Re: RoboTask has stopped printing

Postby mploug » Sat Aug 21, 2021 3:37 pm

Hi Oleg

Thank you for your comments.
Maybe we should try to re-install
a PDF reader. If so we will have to
edit the task for the current PDF Reader.
You don't think we will have to upgrade
to the new version of RoboTask?
mploug
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: RoboTask has stopped printing

Postby Oleg » Sat Aug 21, 2021 5:10 pm

You don't think we will have to upgrade
to the new version of RoboTask?

As you wish.
Version 6.7 has released in September 2016
We added many functions since version 6.7: https://robotask.com/history/
You always can try the latest version in trial mode to test it
Oleg Yershov
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Re: RoboTask has stopped printing

Postby mploug » Tue Aug 24, 2021 1:03 pm

RoboTask seems to have a problem when printing to Konica Minolta printers.
It works with HP and Lexmark printers.
Does RoboTask print to Konica Minolta printers in a different way?
Could it be a driver issue of some way?

Thank you on advance.

Kind regards,
Martin
mploug
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: RoboTask has stopped printing

Postby Oleg » Tue Aug 24, 2021 2:26 pm

Does RoboTask print to Konica Minolta printers in a different way?

RoboTask does not print anything at all. It only send "print" command to associated application through system shell.
Oleg Yershov
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Re: RoboTask has stopped printing

Postby mploug » Wed Aug 25, 2021 6:41 pm

Maybe PCL Drivers have to be enabled in the PDF reader (Foxit).
I must have a closer look at that.

How to Enable PCL Drivers:
https://kb.foxitsoftware.com/hc/en-us/a ... CL-Drivers

Konica Minolta - Specifying the default print settings:
https://manuals.konicaminolta.eu/bizhub ... 39448.html
mploug
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:38 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests