Start Task

Discuss RoboTask here
Post Reply
userXXX
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:45 am

Start Task

Post by userXXX »

Hello,

in one of my tasks there's sometimes a weird behaviour when starting a sub-task:
01.PNG
01.PNG (13.92 KiB) Viewed 23219 times
02.PNG
02.PNG (13.23 KiB) Viewed 23219 times
Question is, why is it trying to start again?

Sub-task shows this log entries:
03.PNG
03.PNG (2.2 KiB) Viewed 23219 times
This is fine.

- to be continued in next entry -
userXXX
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:45 am

Re: Start Task

Post by userXXX »

Sub-task is ending:
04.PNG
04.PNG (954 Bytes) Viewed 23218 times
So far OK.

But then, this happens:

Main task continues:
05.PNG
05.PNG (6.14 KiB) Viewed 23218 times
OK.

But the sub-task is starting again without being asked to do so:
06.PNG
06.PNG (3.67 KiB) Viewed 23218 times
That means, tasks are out of control and we are in a kind of trouble now.

What do you think is going on? There's no reason like a loop or another main-task starting the sub-task.
It's not the first time that we see this problem.

Thank you in advance for any help.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3004
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Start Task

Post by Oleg »

You use "Required start" option.
The warning "Try to start the task again" means that specified task is already running now.
In this case the action tries to start target task two times per second until it can start the task.
This is absolutely normal situation.
Oleg Yershov
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3004
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Start Task

Post by Oleg »

Maybe it's necessary to reduce the amount of such warnings.
Suppose 1 warning per minute, not more frequent.
Oleg Yershov
userXXX
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:45 am

Re: Start Task

Post by userXXX »

The warning "Try to start the task again" means that specified task is already running now.
No, the sub-task was definitely not running before:
07.PNG
07.PNG (6 KiB) Viewed 23210 times
It was started by the main-task and the same main-task is trying to start it again immediately.
You use "Required start" option.
Yes, for me that's kind of a default setting to be sure it will at least run once.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3004
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Start Task

Post by Oleg »

Required start option is necessary in these cases:
  • if the you main task pass some parameters into the sub-task. So the sub-task must process these parameters. It can process another parameters if it's running now.
  • the main task makes or copies some files and sub-task must process them. If sub task is running now it can miss these changes in the folder
  • some other similar situation when the task must process the current environment in any case

In most cases this is not necessary. We recently added this option, because several users asked us about this.
Oleg Yershov
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3004
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Start Task

Post by Oleg »

Each task can not be started twice at the same time.
If required start is off the action do this:
  • If sub task is running now. The action ignores the starting of sub-task. Of course it can wait until sub-task finished
  • If sub task is not running. The action starts sub-task
Oleg Yershov
Post Reply